Currency union (货币联盟)

Currency (or monetary) union (货币联盟 huò bì lián méng) is an intergovernmental union (联盟 lián méng) that involves two or more states sharing the same currency (货币 huò bì).

Part 1: Breakdown of words

  • Currency” (货币 huò bì) as in “electronic currency” (电子货币 diàn zǐ huò bì) or “legal tender” (法定货币 fǎ dìng huò bì).
  • “Union” (联盟 lián méng) as in “Europe Union” (欧洲联盟 ōu zhōu lián méng, often “欧盟” (ōu méng) in short), “Soviet Union” (苏维埃联盟 sū wéi āi lián méng, often “苏联” (sū lián) in short).
    • ” (lián) often indicates a certain kind of connection among things or people; it consists of the radical (guān) which means connection and relationship, like “relationship” (关系 guān xì). “” (lián) as in “to imagine (connecting ideas)” (联想 lián xiǎng), “connection” (联系 lián xì). 
    • ” (méng) as in “alliance” (同盟 tóng méng), “ally” (盟友 méng yǒu), or “convenant” (盟约 méng yuē).

Part 2: Examples

  1. African Monetary Union (非洲货币联盟 fēi zhōu huò bì lián méng).
  2. European Monetary Union (欧洲货币联盟 ōu zhōu huò bì lián méng).


» Add a new term or correction« Back to Glossary Index